The winners have been announced for the prestigious 2020 CILECT Global Film School Awards, a competition for film schools from all over the world. Once again, NFTS is thrilled to see our students in top spots in two of the three categories, the sixth year in succession that the NFTS has won first prize in one or more of the categories. This year, 121 film schools submitted entries globally.

2019 student film November 1st, written and directed by Directing Fiction MA graduate Charlie Manton won first prize in the Fiction category with the film awarded almost double the points of its nearest competitors.

Starring Lindsay Duncan, November 1st sees a mother and daughter travel across state to witness a long-overdue execution.

November 1st film poster

November 1st has already garnered attention on the world stage, including winning a Bronze award at the 2019 Student Academy Awards, shortlisted in the ‘Best Short Film’ category at EE British Academy Film Awards and winning in the ‘Postgraduate Writing’ category at RTS Student Television Awards.

See November 1st trailer, cast and crew

Cast/Voices Bonnie - Lindsay Duncan
Caroline - Sophia Myles

Director/Screenwriter - Charlie Manton
Producer - Teodora Shaleva
Cinematographer - Molly Manning Walker
Production Designer - Theo Boswell
Production Manager - Madeleine Sara
Editor - Celina Øier
Production Sound Mixer - Carys Ellis
1st Assistant Sound - Ryan Beauchamp
Sound Designer - Edward A. Guy
Dubbing Mixer - Adam Shuttleworth
Composer - Thomas Ross Fitzsimons
CG Lead - Paul Robinson
CG Artists - Roxana Loncea, Jan Karnkowski, Beatrice Mikulskyte
Lead Compositor - Ysabel King

2019 graduate stop motion film, Heatwave, directed by Directing Animation MA graduate Fokion Xenos was placed third in the Animation category.

Heatwave film poster

Heatwave, which sees two little kids find a way to cool everyone down in the midst of a searing heatwave has already won and been nominated for multiple awards in 2020 including the Silver Screen Award for Animation at Young Directors Award at Cannes and the Verna Fields Award for Student Film Makers at Motion Picture Sound Editors (MPSE) Golden Reel Awards.

See Heatwave trailer and crew

Director/Writer - Fokion Xenos
Producer - Priya K. Dosanjh
Cinematographer - Brendan Freedman
Production Designer - Antonio Niculae
Production Manager - Joseph Phillips
Editor - Stella Heath Keir
Sound Designer/Dubbing Mixer - Kevin Langhamer
Composer - Andreas Gutuen Aaser
Marketing and PR - Alexandre Ermakov
Model Makers - Thanos Kantzavelos, Harry Saxon
Colourist And Online Editor - Liz Glennard

In 2013 the NFTS made history by becoming the first institution to win first prize in all three CILECT Global Film School Award categories. Since the CILECT Global Film School Awards were founded in 2005, the NFTS has won more awards than any other film school in the world.

Congratulations to all the cast and crews of November 1st and Heatwave, we couldn’t be prouder!