The 2019 46th Student Academy Awards take place next Thursday 17th October in Los Angeles.  

From a total of 1,615 entries across 255 domestic and 105 international colleges and universities, The Academy has voted 16 students as winners, including NFTS graduation film November 1st, written and directed by Directing Fiction 2019 Graduate Charlie Manton.

Anticipation is building as to whether November 1st will be awarded a Bronze, Silver or Gold medal placement in the Narrative (International Film Schools) category. Charlie will be jetting to L.A for a week of industry activities, culminating in next Thursday’s glittering ceremony alongside his fellow NFTS graduates and collaborators; Teodora Shaleva (producer), Molly Manning-Walker (DOP) and Sophia Harrington (costume designer).

NFTS students are a regular feature in these prestigious awards, having won an impressive six Student Academy Awards. The increase to a seventh win next week sees the NFTS retain our title as the most successful International Film School in the world at the Student Oscars.

Charlie commented: “Myself and the whole November 1st team are over the moon to get this recognition from the Academy and are incredibly excited to be going to LA to pick up Bronze, Silver or Gold!”

Charlie directing Lindsay Duncan on the set of November 1st

The awards presentation will take place at the Academy’s Samuel Goldwyn Theatre in Beverly Hills.

The Student Academy Awards were established in 1972 and previous recipients of the Student Academy Award include Spike Lee, Robert Zemekis and Trey Parker.

November 1st is about a mother and daughter who travel across state to witness a long-overdue execution.

November 1st Team: Director/Screenwriter - Charlie Manton; Producer - Teodora Shaleva; Cinematographer - Molly Manning Walker; Production Designer - Theo Boswell; Production Manager - Madeleine Sara; Editor - Celina Øier; Production Sound Mixer - Carys Ellis; 1st Assistant Sound - Ryan Beauchamp; Sound Designer - Edward A. Guy; Dubbing Mixer - Adam Shuttleworth; Composer - Thomas Ross Fitzsimons; CG Lead - Paul Robinson; CG Artists - Roxana Loncea, Jan Karnkowski, Beatrice Mikulskyte; Lead Compositor - Ysabel King

For a full list of this year’s Student Academy Award winners please see: